Blast from the past: Pink Triangle

15 04 2010

(Originally written April 5, 2006 on my old blog. I’m transferring this now because I gave this talk again twice this week. A friend accompanied me to one of them and, in the car ride home after, she mentioned that she had the same realisation that I discuss at the end of this post. So as I sit at home recovering once again from having to deal with this gruesome topic but also from the energy of raising much needed awareness on the issue and reflecting on how I now fear more violence as a visibly queer guy than I ever did before, I thought it would be a good time to transfer this post.)

Maybe you already know this symbol . . . it can often be seen in connection to the LGBT (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender) communuty. Perhaps you already knew that the origin of this symbol can be found in Nazi concentration camps where not only Jews, Roma, people with disabilities and Jehova’s Witnesses were persecuted but where at least 10,000 homosexual and bisexual men were persecuted as well. I’m assuming that people who would, today, perhaps identify as trans women were included as well. Heck, some hetero men who were perceived as gay were probably in there as well since gossip was commonly used as evidence.

Like many people, I thought for a long time that the only targets of Nazi hatred were Jews. That is what I had learned as a child. Of course, this was horrible to me and, even though I’m not Jewish, I’ve always (well, at least since I’ve been mature enough to have deeper thoughts on the issue) felt concerned by these events. There are two primary reasons for this: one is that my father worked for a Jewish community in New York state and taught me to have enourmous respect for them (. . . even though he actually admired Hitler! That is a whole other story, a very traumatising one at that, about this internal duality that he had and the image of my little 5-year-old hands drawing swatikas under his guidance haunt me in my darker moments. However, that is nothing compared to the suffering of the people we are talking about here). The other reason for my long-standing feeling of concern with these events is that I feel human suffering through the empathy that I have for fellow humans, regardless of ethniciy, sex, age and so forth. After all, Jews are humans and I’m human. That was and still is enough for me to feel deeply concerned with and touched by their story, just as it is enough for me to feel deep concern with other genocides and massacres.

When I went to university, I finally found out that there had been other victims in the Holocaust. In the very gradual revealing of these various groups, homosexuals were the last one I found out about.

Now, the college where I teach hosts an annual Holocaust Symposium in April. During this week, various events are scheduled that deal with the Holocaust or with other genocides. The goal is to educate students and the community about what went on and to avoid forgetting the past. These events are scheduled during class times and teachers are encouraged to bring their students. Since I’ve been teaching there, I have always made it a point to take my students to these events. I think it’s important for them to be reminded.

During last year’s [2005] symposium, I casually asked the organiser, a wonderfully kind and warm man who makes a great cup of tea, if they had ever dealt with the topic of homosexuals during the Holocaust. I figured that in 12 years of existence, they couldn’t possibly have by-passed this important topic. I was wrong. He enthusiastically asked me if I would be willing to work on this for the 2006 symposium.

So, for the past few weeks, I’ve been doing research on this topic in preparation for a presentation to be given this week. For the most part, I managed to keep the topic at an intellectual level and to remain objective. Even as I recognised the attrocity of what I was reading, I remained calm and heady. Once in a while, however . . . once in a while, I would have to put it aside. There were points where I just could not read another witness account of inhuman treatment and brutality. Sometimes, it was just too much.

What really touched me, though, even more than the descriptions, as horrible as they were, were the mug shots. You know . . . those series of three pictures of a prisonner upon his arrival at a concentration camp . . . one profile, one diagonal and one face-on. They already had their pyjama-like uniforms on. I looked at these young men and imagined how they must have been full of vitality, full of life, full of love . . . and how they were now so confused, so messed up (since the transportation to camps had its fair share of victims) and so close to death. So close to the atrocious suffering that would be dealt to them by SS officers and even other prisoners. I will spare you the details.

Today, after my presentation, I attended a commemoration ceremony. Short speeches were made as well as a prayer by a Rabbi and some Yiddish singing (that I felt I could almost understand since it is so close to German but  . . .not quite). Candles were lit. Two students talked about their previous exposure to Holocaust education in school or elsewhere. A recurrent theme was “How will others remember?” In fact, it was the theme of this year’s symposium. One thing that came up (I honestly can’t remember if it came up in conversation or in my brain) was that when the survivors are gone, their children will be there to continue to pass down the memories, and their children’s children after that.

This thought, whereever it came from, made me think about the LGBT community at two levels. One level is that we often forget that there is still a lot of work to be done with regards to LGBT rights. Even if conditions are favourable now and we have gained much ground, at least in Canada, things could change in a matter of no time at all. If we think of Berlin in the 1920s, we are reminded that queer culture was flourishing. Bars, associations, a gay rights movement . . . it seemed as though things were headed in the right direction. They even managed to get a vote through in the Reich that would remove the law against homosexuality (Paragraph 175) from the books. This progress was nullified very rapidly with Hitler’s rise to power even though many people thought that he was harmless in the beginning and that everything would be OK. It scares me that today, we often thing that everything will be OK and that the rights we’ve gained can’t be taken away. With the current political climate in North America, this attitude can be very misleading.

The second aspect on which this thought made me reflect is that of “descent”. If Jewish survivors had children and grandchildren who would transmit their story throughout the generations, who would do it for the gays? For the most part, gay survivors did not have children. Furthermore, they couldn’t even tell their story until the 1970s without fear of arrest since Paragraph 175 remained in effect in one version or another in both East and West Germany.

I realised then, in the middle of listening to a speech by a Rabbi, that WE, the current queer community, are their descendents . . .if not physically, then spiritually. It’s our duty, then, to become aware of the atrocities that they faced during the Holocaust and in other times and places. The Holocaust is, of course, a special case since it went beyond a mere case of homophobia into a case of vengence on these German men who should be able to reproduce and help propagate the “Master Race” but who, instead, chose to love differently. It is therefore important for us to be aware and to make sure that future generations are aware of the extent or the suffering to which hatred and incomprehension can lead. Like the children and grandchildren of Jewish survivors, we must recognise the past of our “ancestors” and make sure that it doesn’t happen again, that we maintain our right to love in our own way and that the future generations inherit this right.

I also think that it’s critical that we show the Nazis (if their souls are watching us from whereever they are, surely in hell if it exists – although I’m not Christian, I can’t believe that there is no hell somewhere reserved for people such as them who have incarnated evil) that they failed in their quest to divide us! For let us not forget that one of their goals in assigning triangles of various colours to their prisoners was to divide them so that they would continue to distrust and even hate each other. We must acknowledge that ALL these people suffered in equally horrendous ways. We cannot put a hierarchy on people’s suffering. We can say that the suffering was inflicted differently on the different groups but in the end Jews, gays and other victims of the Holocaust or of any other genocide or massacre suffered in appalling ways.

This realisation, that we queers are in a sense descendants of homosexual victims of the Holocaust gave a whole new meaning to the research and presentation that I did. If at first the project was mainly academic and intellectual, it has now taken on a spiritual, political and social meaning since I can now feel that I have fulfilled part of my duty as a metephorical descendant of these victims. This realisation, as it hit me like a punch in the stomach,  gave deep meaning, even after the fact, to the pain that I felt through the gazes of the victims in the pictures. And I’m grateful for it.

Actions

Information

10 responses

15 04 2010
xbodx

Je suis d’accord, sauf sur le point de l’Enfer. Non, je ne veux pas rentrer dans les détails chrétiens…

Mais de mentionner que ces gens incarnaient le “evil” et qu’ils doivent être en Enfer si quelque chose du genre existe me fait poser des questions et vient faire un clivage (dangereux?) dans ton analyse:

Comment séparer le soldat SS véritablement méchant (qui prend plaisir à tuer/torturer, qui a une haine profonde des gens qu’il s’amuse à détruire pièce par pièce), du soldat qui ne fait qu’obéir aux ordres et qui est trop chicken (et beaucoup trop au courant de ce qui l’attend) pour s’interposer ou refuser de faire ce qu’on lui ordonne? Combien de gens sont morts à cause qu’un homme a abaissé un levier hors d’une chambre à gaz, alors que cet homme pleurait le soir venu en cachette?

Oui les têtes dirigeantes nazies, comme celles de l’URSS ou de tout autre régime de terreur étaient foncièrement mauvaises (ou malades), mais les simples exécutants? Je ne sais pas… L’esclavagisme a existé pendant longtemps et les gens qui le pratiquaient n’étaient pas foncièrement mauvais. C’était dans la culture et plusieurs ne se posaient pas ce genre de question, puisque la société ou les pratiques reçues d’un chef charismatique (réel ou non) leur avait insufflé ces pratiques… Idem pour les noirs, les juifs et les asiatiques et les infidèles du moyen-âge…

Ça jette un petit voile sur le reste du texte, qui est extrèmement pertinent…

15 04 2010
Jacky V.

Merci pour ton commentaire. Tu as le droit à tes opinions mais je suis en désaccord avec ta critique car ce texte se veut une expression de sentiments plutôt qu’un analyse. J’ai le droit d’avoir ces sentiments, tout comme tu as le droit d’être en désaccord. Ça ne jette aucun voile sur mon texte, ça exprime MES sentiment à cet égard. Voilà.

16 04 2010
Shirley Anne

Everything boils down to man’s inhumanity to man. It’s about power, control, superiority over others. It’s about ego, selfishness and wickedness and all of it could be averted if we followed the Ten Commandments, specifically, Love thy neighbour as thyself. God fearing people should do that. For others it’s a case of relying on human beings to behave in a decent manner to other human beings. Therein lies the problem. If you don’t live by a standard then nothing is going to change. If you do live by a standard, history has proven time and time again that we do not learn by our mistakes so relying on human standards is worthless. It doesn’t matter what the atrocity is or to whom it is aimed we cannot rely on our fellow human beings to act in love toward one another. I have to say that God’s way is the only way and we are in such a mess because we fail to follow His way. Many people have tried to correct the human way but they will always fail. You can spend a whole lifetime pondering, discussing, persuading, teaching about morals but if you place your faith in mankind you’re going to be let down. OK I know many people don’t believe in God but that doesn’t change the argument. You mentioned something about hell. If you believe in a hell you must also believe in a heaven else at the end of our lives there is nothing, no retribution, no reward, nothing. The danger in believing in nothing after this life leaves the way open for people to just do as they please; exactly what they are doing in fact! Personally I don’t waste my time and life worrying about the Holocaust or aything that has happened in history and there have been many such holocausts in the past. People go on about the war (WW2) but what about WW1, Crimean War, Napoleonic Wars and the countless wars before those? We simply do not learn.

Shirley Anne xxx

26 04 2010
nix

hi jacky, thanks for this post. the idea of other trans and queer people as my ‘ancestors’ is something i often consider. while my mother and father can tell me the history of their/my families, it wasn’t until i became part of wider queer network and studied at university that i had access to my queer/trans ‘family’ history. it’s sometimes hard to articulate that feeling of “those were my people” when i read about or see images of long-ago gender variant and/or queer people, so i appreciate the links you draw with jewish history in this regard.

3 12 2010
Oscar

Yes. I definitely feel this. Similarly, I think of queer youth as my children. I mean, in a very romanticized way, without putting any real effort behind it, but I do care for them.

3 12 2010
Jacky V.

Thanks for writing, Oscar!

3 12 2010
Jacky V.

Oh, I just saw Nix’s comment! Wow, sorry about that! Yes, I started realising the vastness of it all when I became more and more integrated into the trans and queer community. And it’s funny because I feel more attached to this history than the history of my actual blood family, although it is pretty interesting as well.

3 12 2010
nix

heh, no worries! yeah, i feel similarly. not necessarily that i’m more attached to this queer/trans family history, but that i have to look much harder to find it and so i have a lot of investment in learning it. it makes me really upset that queer history isn’t taught in schools because it enacts a kind of violence – not letting queer kids know about their history/ancestors.

3 12 2010
Jacky V.

yeah, that makes a lot of sense (re: having a lot of investment in learning it on account of it being harder to find). I agree about the school thing. I try hard, in my own teaching, to incorporate a lot of this kind of stuff.

1 01 2011
The Requisite 2010 Review « Tboy Jacky

[…] their allies have been exceptionally involved, which makes me very proud. Oh yeah, I also gave a presentation on the persecution of gays during the Holocaust in a couple of classes at my […]

Leave a Reply

