Pain in the . . .uterus?

3 08 2009

Any trans guys reading this who are on T and pre-hysto get menstrual-type cramping on occasion? It’s been happening to me more and more. Started a few months ago but was very infrequent. Lately, it’s been happening more. A week ago, it was so bad that I was in tears. I was actually having contractions like when I was in labour for a couple of hours. And, like when I used to have period pains or labour pains, I felt it in my lower back too. I read up a bit and some sites mention cramping in passing as a result of an accumulation of endometrial tissue in the uterus that is not being discharged by menstruation. But that’s all I found.

I will be making an appointment for a consultation with a local trans-friendly gyn-ob next week for sure. But in the meantime, I’d be interested in hearing if any of my bros out there have or have had this happen to them before their hystos.

Actions

Information

31 responses

4 08 2009
radicalyffe

Hey Jacky, thats not cool at all! 😦

I haven’t experienced said pain in the uterus, in fact the supremely severe period pain I used to get pre-T is gone, and will hopefully never return.

I do have a theory though!

One of the FTM groups here in Australia told me that I simply have to have a hysto, its VITAL for my health, and when I demanded they produce hard medical fact, they produced a single study that found that FTM’s who are on T, have uteruses and ovaries that look the same as women with PCOS. (This is logical, since we’re taking freaking testosterone!)

ANYWAY, mostly I blew that off as irrelevent to me, since most of the symptoms of PCOS are the same as FTM transition… (hairiness, balding, acne, infertility, weight gain, etc)

However, even though its not listed as a symptom on any of the resources I’ve looked at, I have heard a lot of my friends who have PCOS complain about having extremely painful periods, and sometimes period pain sans bleeding.

So maybe its related to the testosterone/PCOS ovary/uterus fuckery?

Thats my theory. Its probably not very useful, and its a good thing I’m just a nut bag with my collection of anecdotes and shiny tin foil hat over here in Australia, and not your ob-gyn. πŸ™‚

Good luck with it though, hope you feel better soon.

4 08 2009
Tarald

That sounds familiar. For me, it seems to be related to sex, unfortunately, and happens after sex. I still have a contraceptive device in my uterus, so that may have something to do with it, but I doubt it. I am really looking forward to removing it all. It hurts.

Another thing worth mention is that the membranes in my “cockpit” probably gets thinner because of testo. And that causes bleeding almost every time I use that body part. In combination, those two things feels very much like menstruation, but lasts shorter (max one day).

4 08 2009
Shirley Anne

This subject is way over my head Jacky. Before today I had never heard of such an ailment. Obviously it is only related to FtM’s (isn’t it?). However it must be a pain in the **** (fill in as required…LOL). Maybe the hysto is the proper solution I wouldn’t know but what I do know is that getting along to a reputable doc is a must. Hope the condition gets sorted Jacky. Love

Shirley Anne x

6 08 2009
nix

sometimes i get pains like this . . . once in a blue moon, and not often enough to do anything about it. it’s not actually as long-lasting as when i did get period pains. usually it’s just a couple of hours of discomfort, often when i’m in bed trying to sleep, and i feel that vague, annoying ache in my lower back. let us know what the doc says!

8 08 2009
joaquinjack

Oy, after hearing all this I’m actually eager to get a hysto. I wasn’t really thinking too hard about it- to me, it seemed like unnecessary, invasive, and dangerous surgery that may or may not improve what T does to you and doesn’t really affect my stand on whether I’m a man or not (especially since T renders infertility, which would be my main motivation anyway.) But since it seems like cramps might be a big part of my future due to T because I’ve had debilitating cramps before, I’m definitely thinking about it now. I’ve also had ovarian cysts before… it’s honestly beginning to look more healthy now.

10 08 2009
Jacky V.

@ Rad: Yeah, I noticed that many of the PCOS symptoms were . . umm . . .desired results of those of us on T. LOL. But the cramping . . . not sure either. I wouldn’t be surprised if there were a connection. In any case, the cramping has been almost daily lately so I’m trying hard to make an appointment with the guy that was recommended to me. Hard to get a hold of them though so I will probably have to go in person.

Tarald: That’s interesting. I don’t really have sex-related cramping but then again I don’t really use my vagina that often. Once in a while, I’m in the mood for it but for the most part, it’s kind of “meh” for me.

Shirley Anne: Yeah, I understand how this isn’t too relevant to you ; )

Nix: Thanks for sharing your experience. I’m glad to hear that it’s only a mild annoyance for you.

Jaoquin: I’ve wondered about the necessity of a hysto as well. Thing is, they can’t really tell if it’s the only solution or not because most trans guys who physically transition DO get the hysto so it’s hard to study the effect of T on the internal female genital organs. I wasn’t in a rush until this cramping business started, even though my endo recommended that I start seriously looking into it back in June. I had made an appointment with a gyno, but then someone told me he wasn’t trans friendly (ie. not willing to put down something like “abnormal bleeding” to make sure the operation was government funded) and gave me a better name to follow up on.

12 08 2009
Edward

Yes I had this happen. I would actually wake up at night with cramps. They felt like menstraul cramps or early labor. Then one day I woke up to blood. All the reading I did stated that menestration should stop with in 2-3 months on T. I had passed that time frame.

I made an appt and nothing could be found to be wrong obviously wrong. I decided to go with the hysto at this time. I had a real medical reason to remove those female parts and figured I better get it done while I could get it paid for. Furthermore, no man wants to have to worry about bleeding. I mean how do you explain that should it happen in public and pass through clothing. It was a horrifying thought to have to consider. Not to mention that boxers and boxer breifs really are not made to hold a pad. I also wanted no part of tampons.

The Dr. that delivered my last child performed my hysto. I decided to have my cervix removed along with my uterus and both ovaries. She stated that my uterus has grown and was floppy like a half filled ballon. My ovaries had shrunk up really small and were high up. She had to pack my insides very far up to reach them.

I don’t know if this condition was the result of T, of having had 6 children, or perhaps having started T only two months postpartum from our last child. I will never know. What I do know is that it is the best thing I ever did. Not having the influence of any estrogen has been wonderful. I don’t have to worry about bleeding, cervical cancer, cramps, uterine or ovarian cancer. I have never felt so emotionally stable. The T brought the first releif from estrogen influence and the hysto was the icing on the cake.

Every once in a while I do feel a tinge of a cramp and it brings back period memories for me but other than that I feel great. I went with removal through the vagina. The healing was fast because there was no cut into muslce from the outside in.

Follow up and take care of yourself. Investigate your options and don’t be afraid to take the leap.

Best wishes
Edward

21 07 2010
Billie

HEY!!!!!!!!!! my doctor told me today that my uterus is floppy! what does that mean? i do not have any children so do you think that will cause me from not being able to have children? please email me if you can! billieagee83@yahoo.com thank you

21 07 2010
Billie

HEY!!!!!!!!!! my doctor told me today that my uterus is floppy! what does that mean? i do not have any children so do you think that will cause me from not being able to have children? please email me if you can! my email is at the bottom of this page thank you

8 11 2014
Sean

I actually know for sure that the ovaries do shrunk up and they do go high up due to T. and That is why usually for transmen to get hysto before couple of years of T. My friend did a hysto too and his was high up due to T.

12 08 2009
Jacky V.

Thanks for sharing your experience, Edward! Good to know. I haven’t had any bleeding . . . am knocking on wood and hoping that won’t happen.

13 08 2009
BT

We’ve heard of one of our friends having trouble, but there was PCOS in the mix too, so that definitely could’ve had something to do with it. We have heard of it though.

Hope that things got sorted and whatever was up is doing better now! *pets*

–Rogan/Sneak

15 08 2009
Jacky V.

I was gonna say: Rogan, you’re such a sweetie but then I figured Sneak is the one who put the *pets* in there ; ) I miss you guys!! I should log on to MSN more often.

16 08 2009
BT

Yes! We miss you too, and we always feel bad about randomly showing up on your journal like, every six months. <.<

I hope your son is doing good! πŸ˜€

–Sneak

17 08 2009
joaquinjack

So I went out on a quest for hysterectomy info after the old “war wound” decided to start bleeding heavily again this afternoon, and I found a pretty informative article written by a nurse, about what she’s seen in FTM hysterectomies. It’s written from a healthily pessimistic viewpoint; while it’s reasonably pro-FTM (she even mentions a certain “beloved Sam” she knows having gone through transition), she hits heavily on all of the possible complications and why, for many people, it might not be worth it. I’m sure you’re probably well-informed, but I feel it’s good to recommend to any transguy.

http://www.fortunecity.com/village/maupin/133/Hysterectomy.htm

24 08 2009
Barbara Hamilton

Oh my God! I thought that I was the only one. For those that had a hysto I wish that I was you. Now before those who say oh but you don’t understand I do more than most know, see now I had two kids with nothing! with one i almost died on the table. I have 3 kids and have had 3 misscarriages. When I’m on my period I am in full blown labor! and towards the end I actually feel the gost baby drop. My uterus tilts, have you ever sat down on your uterus at that point I wish that I was dead. I have 9 different types of cysts, that rupture and then regrow. Sex is hell unless I and pumped full of my pain killers. The doctors with my last child would not do a hysto because they felt I could have more kids but yet they did a tubel I have clamps and coils its been three years and they have no scar tissue over them yet. I get cold from the inside out and nothing warms me up or when I try and use a heating blanket to help with the labor pains and then I feel like my insides are on fire. They say that they cannot help me by doing a hysto because the cysts will always come back. My sex life has been gone since I got pregnant with my daughter.. Thank GOD my husband understands, and doesn’t do like some would you know go looking somewhere else. So instead I live on pain killers. My life is hell for three weeks a month for just being a female.Please If any one has any ideas on how I can get my life back I am open to any idea. You know the saying no question is a dumb question well in my case. No idea is a dumb idea. Please I am begging for help from anyone. thanks Barbara.
blab_00_2000@hotmail.com just put in the heading something that I would catch so I don’t just delete them. any if anyone needs to talk you can e-mail me there or address the same but at yahoo.com.

25 08 2009
Jacky V.

Hi Barbara;

I’m so sorry to hear you’re having so much trouble. I can’t really help you I’m afraid . . . I’m not quite in the same situation seeing as I haven’t had a period in over a year on account of HRT. But hopefully you will find the help you need.

Have you considered seeing a Chinese herbalist? A friend of mine went to China town for menstrual problems and they recommended an herbal mixture. She hasn’t been able to afford it yet but the guy basically looked at her hand and was able to diagnose her problem without her even giving the specifics. Might be worth a shot if you live near a city with a Chinatown.

25 08 2009
Jacky V.

Or maybe accumpuncture could help.

25 08 2009
Jacky V.

Sneak: Don’t feel bad. I don’t get around to reading many blogs that aren’t on WordPress more than once a month or so. With WordPress, there is blog surfer which makes it super easy to skim over recent entries really fast. But I don’t go on Google Reader nearly often enough.

Jack: thanks for the article, I will check it out.

25 08 2009
Jacky V.

Ugh. Kind of a gloomy article. It’s so hard to know who to trust and believe.

21 07 2010
Billie

i am kind of confused if you are having debilitating menstrual cramps and you have a uterus then you might have endometriosis. its where the outside of the uterus sheds while you are menstruating. The cells that come off of the endometrium have no place to go and it actually causes internal bleeding. I am going through the same things. feel free to email me with further questions. If i completely missed what is being talked about please forgive me. billieagee83@yahoo.com

7 08 2010
Jacky V.

Hey Billie. Thanks for writing and sorry about the delay in response. Been pretty busy. In my case, the pain I was having was a normal result of testosterone treatment. Not endometriosis. Everything is fine now that I have had a hysto. Sorry you are experiencing problems of your own! Hope they get resolved soon!

22 07 2010
Elijah lee

I am pre t pre op pre everything. I had some analysis done everything went well Except for one Since i am an older guy, i was told to have a mamogram done fearing the worst, but felt i have no option, i went and had them done. It came back possitive, something was shown but they needed to do more lab test in order to know what it is. Could be a tumor a binai or just a cyst don’t know. I can’t help but fearing the worst I got in to get treatment for testosterone and i wind up with getting something else 😦 GOD TRULY HATES ME

7 08 2010
Jacky V.

Hey there. Thanks for writing. So sorry to hear that. I hope everything turns out OK. Best of luck to you!

11 04 2012
starcrossedpimp

I have the same problem dude. I was fine for the first 2.5 yrs on t, then started gettin weird pain once a month… Then more painful… Then more frequent. When I get it some days its so bad my vision is blurred and I have a bucket next to me on the bed in case I puke. I never do. As I write I am feeling these fucking organs moving around inside me. It also now radiates down my legs. I have insurance, and a doc who was going to perform hysto. But the insurance flagged my for some reason and it took them 5 WEEKS to basically tell me that my Pre authorization was over ridden (hysto is females is automatically covered on my plan) by some fuck head who wrote down that this was a ‘elective surgery’. Well, now I’ve figured out the deal with the insurance, but now my doctor got called away for 2-6 months to work on a naval base… Fucking random twists of fate. Now I have to wait another month at least to hopefully get these fucking things out of me. Before I was going to leave the cervix in, but now I just wan it all gone. The pain gets so bad dude. And it usually comes about 15 minutes after u have an orgasm, and can last 24 fucking brutal hours. My advice: GET THE FUCKING HYSTORECTOMY ASAP!!!! You do not want to live with this, it can spread endo tissue all over ur abdomen and cause permanent damage. Even put u at higher risk for ovarian cancer. And here the insurance companies have the audacity to even suggest this is ‘elective’ when a fucking obgyn diagnoses you with endometriosis, and you have been diagnosed with PCOS for years prior. No one really cares about any of us, we’re at the shit end of the stick. So your gonna have to fight long and hard to get what should be given to you on first request and sign of an issue. Here’s more advice: make sure u are listed as FEMALE on ur insurance… Males don’t need a hysto, so if ur doctor makes one simple mistake in the coding, it can fuck everything up. That’s what happened to me. Best of luck dude, don’t get discouraged or ever take no for an answer. You (we) deserve to be treated equally and fairly, especially of you pay for insurance to do so.

11 04 2012
starcrossedpimp

Doctors are retarded. They don’t know anything about FTMs, all their training goes out the window when I meet with them and I end up educating the doctors more than them educating me. I have the SAME problem u do. Started one day a month, pain gradually got worse, then started more often, then pain got early unbearable, and now I can’t even get off without being doubled over in pain the next 24 hours. It’s aweful. I’ve been signed up for hysto 2 times and each time had to cancel because my insurance decided to flag my plan, override the preauthorization (hysto for females is covered on my plan, no questions asked) and some dumb fuck at the insurance place (probably old white idiot) wrote that it won’t be covered because it is an ‘elective surgery’. Are you fucking kidding me? I have been diagnosed with PCOS since I was 16 (I’m 23), and most recently my obgyn diagnosed me with endometriosis. I finally got the insurance figured out (apparently someone along the line changed the gender on my policy to MALE without my consent), and my doctor takes off to work on a naval base for 2-6 months. Now I have to wait another painful month to HOPEFULLY have my hysto. But who fucking knows because of all the bigoted idiots we allow to run our world. My advice to you: GET A FUCKING HYSTORECTOMY ASAP!!! The pain WILL get worse as long as your taking T. Surgery is the only ‘cure’. It is dangerous long term: endometrial tissue can spread to other organs, intestines and bowels, meaning residual pain in long term. You also have a higher risk of ovarian cancer apparently, as long as u have ur inner lady parts. I was originally going to leave the cervix in, but at this point I’m in moderate to severe pain about 2-3 days a week, I want it all gone. Dont want to have to worry about anything anymore except if my insurance wants to play games this month and tell me hormones are no longer covered… JK! We live in a world where we are the shit end of the stick my friend. You are lucky if you have the resources to find a doctor who cares about trans issues… Therefore care about you as an individual. I wish the best for you and you all on this journey. It will be a very tough road, but never give up, never take no for an answer. This is YOUR LIFE! The insurance companies should have no say in if your in pain or not, or refuse equal treatment because of a trans status. That’s the other thing, overly express that ur ‘transness’ is a Sizemore of the surgery…your main goal is to go in there, scream in pain, beg for mercy and the scissors, and tell that god damn office manager to make sure she writes the insurance codes properly: bio female, PCOS and ENDO, not responding to treatment ( and if you want to go this far), causing untimely bleeding and severe pain. Most likely your reproductive organs are half way to hell, so of the doctor argues that you shld keep them in in case you want kids, you ask that male doctor if he would like to give birth to a child in his lifetime, then tell him to fuck himself. Well, don’t say that, and don’t act as brutally honest as I am speaking, rather go in and cry about how you can’t stand living in this kind of pain. They should listen to you then. Sorry for the language, it’s been a frustrating 3 months with this shit. I wish the best to all of you going thru this shit. Keep your heads up, never stop fighting, that’s the life we were born into. We’re all fighters, never back down till you are treated as an equal.

28 12 2014
Tarald

I feel the need to balance this thread some. It’s been 5 years since my original post and the pain I have is exactly the same (only after sex) and still no bleeding. Thank God! Since the Norwegian system is still fucked up, I still have no possibility of getting a hysto 😦

1 01 2015
Jacky V.

I’m so sorry to hear that Tarald 😦 I hope things improve soon!

12 04 2017
jack

Did you find out why you had those cramps. Have one so bad right now

12 04 2017
J.V.

I never found out for sure. But I’ve read some stuff that shows a link between the accumulation of lining in the uterus and cramping. Maybe periods stop with testesterone but the lining keeps getting thicker? I don’t know for sure.

24 04 2017
nix

Thanks for the update. I also still sometimes get this pain – as I described above. It got bad for a while and my Dr thought it might be related to bladder/kidneys, but I had an ultrasound and some pathology tests and nothing came back. Still no surgery for me, either.

Leave a Reply

