Life without hips

7 03 2009

Yes, I had read all about the fat redistribution that happens with testosterone treatment. I thought I was prepared for it but YIKES! My main gripe lately (always with a chuckle and tongue in cheek) has been: “No one warned me about how hard it is to live without hips!!”

I used to use them as a sort of shelf to help me carry things. No more. Last time I tried, a few months ago, the box just slid down. Now I get why men carry boxes by holding them up on one shoulder. It’s not macho, it’s just the only shelf they got!

And PANTS! Sheesh. Makes me wonder why, traditionally, men have been the ones wearing pants. Even with a tight belt, I have to pull up my jeans CONSTANTLY. Of course, it doesn’t help that I wear binders made of sleek material that probably enables the sliding even more but still . . . I’m thinking of making a bold fashion move and bringing suspenders back in style! Not slung down under the hips like my butch brethren either, but actually in functional mode!

Oh well. I always like to look on the bright side of life so . . . on a final note . . . it sure as HELL beats having periods. πŸ˜€

Actions

Information

14 responses

7 03 2009
genderoutlaw

Do what we’ve all wanted to do: Bring back suspenders!!! πŸ™‚

7 03 2009
Jacky V.

My sentiments exactly!

8 03 2009
Shirley Anne

I wished my hips would have grown as quickly as your’s shrank Jacky! Actually it’s no big deal to me that they are not much bigger after seven years. People get so hung up on minor details like these. Suspenders (we call them braces) made a come back some time ago, although many guys have always worn them, especially older guys. The thing about them is they really work! The bonus is they come in all sorts of designs and can look quite attractive on a guy. Anyhow better wearing suspenders than having everyone gawping at your boxer shorts!

Shirley Anne x

8 03 2009
Jacky V.

It’s funny because suspenders were in style around here for a while among dykes and, having been a part of the dyke community for quite some time, I actually do have suspenders. I don’t see many guys my age wearing them but I’m sure I could pull it off. We’ll see ; )

8 03 2009
Eva Vavoom

I’ve been shaped like a frog for 15 years LOL It’s a bitch, that and the low waist fashion has humiliated me a few times! You can sew you waistbands so they taper inward and that has been my trick so my pants stay on without suspenders. πŸ™‚

8 03 2009
Jacky V.

Thanks for the tip, Eva πŸ˜‰

11 03 2009
radicalyffe

❀ Suspenders!

I don’t need suspenders cos my hips haven’t shrunk at all! In fact, I have gained weight right to my hips, and I’m more pear shaped than ever before! Bizarre!

My boobs have gone from E-cups to C-cups though, which is a major WIN.

11 03 2009
Jacky V.

Hmmmm. Well, I guess we all go through these changes in different combinations and at different rates. My boobs haven’t really changed at all, other than a scar that someone gave me : )

12 03 2009
Grace

Oh, so that’s why I’ve been able to do that more easily. My brain keeps thinking my hips filling out is all psychological, somehows. :\

12 03 2009
Jacky V.

Thanks for posting Grace! I hope you’re enjoying your hips!

18 03 2009
BT

Jacky,

Thinking of trying to get a binder again; the last one didn’t fit and I had to sell it off. Where do you get yours?

–Rogan

18 03 2009
Jacky V.

Rogan: I’ve tried a few different one. I tried some from Underworks. If you google Underworks AND FTM, yoU’ll see a bunch of binders that are designed for bio males with . . .what’s the word again? . . .anyway, man boobs but that are frequently used by FTMs. I’m not nuts about the one I got there – a muscle T. The material is so sleek that my boobs just slide and don’t stay compressed. So I have to wear another binder under it. It’s OK since I always have to wear 2 anyway because of my D cups. *sigh*

I tried Double T (you can google them too) but I’m not crazy about the tank top model that I got with the velcro side. I wear it with the one mentioned above. Double T does have other models that I want to try though, especially the ones with mesh backing.

My fave so far are ones that I got at a place in Ottawa. Don’t know the brand but you can get them online at Venus Envy – they have an online shop. The material is nice and rigid so the boobs don’t slide and they have a mesh back as well, which is good when you sweat. And they are only $40 something Canadian.

19 03 2009
curvyglo

i have never thought of this. ever.
they *are* a shelf! wow! …i guess that’s why women carry babies/kids on their hips & guys dont! (well, they do, but it’s all strong-arm work.)
cool!

21 03 2009
Jacky V.

Glo: Glad I could help ; )

Leave a Reply

