A letter to my readers on this important day

20 11 2008

Dear readers;

I thought I was going to be speechless but writing has helped me get out what I wanted to say.

First, Mercedes Allen wrote a beautiful post on Transgender Day of Remembrance. It is well worth a read.

Many sites are blacked out today, making their content unavailable. I looked for a way to do this but I couldn’t find a way to temporarily inactivate my blog. I don’t know enough about all the WordPress features to do so without fear of losing all my information.

Kudos to Gender Outlaw who found a way to black out without removing content from his site. I will try to do the same.

It’s hard for me to think about this as clearly as I would think about the senseless deaths of people in an “other” group. This is the first time in my life that I’ve been a part of a group that is so actively hated that when its members are murdered, they are not only blamed for their own murders but they are further humiliated in their death by reporters who refer to them in ways that are inconsistent with their self-identification.

Although I stand in solidarity with my trans brothers and sisters and our allies every day, as well as with other groups of people who are targets of hatred and scorn, today I have a special thought for those who have lost their lives because of transphobia and also for sisters and brothers who live in places where they must fear for their lives every day. I’m lucky – I live in a fairly trans-friendly location. The worst I get is people who think I’m a disgusting freak and who think I will burn in hell. I can easily avoid being around those people. I’ve successfully avoided having transphobia and homophobic people in my social circles much in the same way that I avoid having racists and misogynists in my circles.  So I can’t imagine what it would be like to live in constant fear. The idea of one’s freedom of movement and speech being be so restricted is horrifying to me.

In solidarity,

Jacky

Actions

Information

One response

20 11 2008
Jillian Page

Nicely written, Jacky. I urge everyone to say a prayer for all our trans brothers and sisters who have lost their lives to anti-transgender violence and transphobia. And pray that this sort of thing doesn’t happen anymore.

Jillian Page

Leave a Reply

