Music Challenge

23 07 2008

OK, I’ll play. It’s kinda fun. I was challenged by Punk Fairy to list my five current favourite songs. It’s hard to narrow it down to 5 so I’ll just list 5 songs that I’ve had in my head a lot lately and why.

Abba’s SOS (I know, I know)

I’ve had this in my head for two days straight and it reminds me of long car rides in James Bay (Northern Québec) with my lover back in 1998. He had an Abba tape that kept playing over and over because we were always so busy talking about life, the universe and everything or making out that we never thought to change it. This was the last song on the tape, because it did the clickety-click thing before it circuits. In my current understanding of what it means to love (unconditionally and based on years of accumulated trust and passion), he is the only man I have ever really loved and I always will.

Iron Maiden’s Remember Tomorrow

They rarely play this live. I cried when I heard it live for the first and probably last time. I love this live version because of what Bruce says about heavy metal beating in people’s hearts at the beginning. Heavy metal kept me alive for most of my life, especially Iron Maiden.

Mylène Farmer’s Sans Contrefaçon

For those of you who don’t understand le français, she says, roughly: “Without a doubt, I’m a boy” This song excites me for obvious reasons but especially because of the very feminine voice that utters these words: “Je suis un garçon”.

Barbara’s Aigle Noir

I’ll just let her voice speak for itself. I fell in love with her voice the first time I heard this song. I looked her up and cried when I found out she had died several years before. She spent her youth running from the Nazis in France and had an emotionally turbulent life. But that voice . . . ! This song gives me both courage and serenity.

Kashtin’s E Uassiuian (My childhood)

This is an Innu band. The Innu are a Native group from Northern Québec (my ancestry on my maternal grandmother’s side). I don’t understand the words but I was once told by an Eeyou poet (a closely related group) that you can understand anything if you listen with your heart. This song particularly touches me but all of Kashtin’s music is good.

So . . .there you go. I could go on forever but I’ll stop at five. On another day, it could be 5 whole other songs so these particularly reflect my mood right now.

OK . . .I’ll challenge Mish, Miss Eva Vavoom, Cheerful Megalomaniac, Joyce and Edward.

Actions

Information

4 responses

24 07 2008
Ryan

OMG! A MEME!

Dithers!

YOU TAGGED ME!

OMG! *skitters off*

24 07 2008
Jacky V.

HAHA. It’s my first time.

24 07 2008
punkfairy

omg. Abba 😀

24 07 2008
Jacky V.

I *KNEW* someone was going to pick on me for liking ABBA. 😀 It’s OK. I have ecclectic musical tastes, what can I say 😉

Leave a Reply

