New Hair!

20 07 2008

OK, so I just noticed that I have a line of fine hairs growing on my belly, starting about 2 inches below my sternum and reaching all the way down to my belly button. The line of hair that already existed between my belly button and my pubic hair is a tad thicker than it was. Seeing this, I got curious about my chest. I took a careful look and, lo and behold, there are a few fine hairs *just* starting to grow smack in the middle of my chest. Woohoo! This testosterone stuff works wonders!

Actions

Information

13 responses

21 07 2008
punkfairy

Yay hairs.
I cant wait. ^_^

21 07 2008
Jacky V.

I know! It’s pretty exciting. It’s funny though because they always seem to pop up when I’m not looking!

21 07 2008
Jillian

Congrats, Jacky! I am always amazed by the potency of testosterone. I know a couple of FtMs with beards. It just blows me away how masculine they are. If I hadn’t known they were born genetic females, I would never have guessed it.

Nice site you have here!

Cheers
Jillian Page

21 07 2008
Jacky V.

Thanks for dropping by Jillian. And thanks for the link love (to borrow an expression from Gender Outlaw). As you can see from my blogroll, it’s mutual.

Yeah, I was amazed too the first time I met an FTM. It gave me lots and lots of hope.

8 08 2008
genderkid

I’m not on T, and I don’t fully identify as FtM (more like FtX, or genderqueer), but I still grow a good amount of facial hair (which goes to show that many “female” bodies have high amounts of natural T). I love it, but I have to remove it because I’m still living at home and I’m not out…
At least I get to stare at my mini-moustache in the mirror for a while, before chopping it off.

8 08 2008
Jacky V.

Hey Genderkid;

Thanks for dropping by! FTX is an interesting concept. I’ve identified as genderqueer for a few years and continue to do so, yet I also identify as FTM. In my case, it’s because I identify strongly as male in the physical sense but not necessarily gender-wise. I’m aiming for “genderqueer guy” ultimately.

As far as the facial hair, I was the same before T. I’ve had a significant amount of chin hairs since I was about 15 or so. I was so ashamed for the longest time and would remove them with that chemical stuff that women use. It’s nice to be able to let it grow now and shave once in a while.

11 08 2008
genderkid

It’s nice seeing how much gender variety there can be under one label, such as genderqueer. Some people will say labels are limiting, but this one sure isn’t!

11 08 2008
genderkid

Jacky, I’ve been thinking about your comment some more.

I usually take FTM and MTF to mean “transgendered;” you made me realize that it refers to sex, not to gender (which aren’t *that* easy to separate).

In a manner, my use of FTX is also about the physical, but for me there’s my body –female, not transitioning– and there’s the way I *present* my body –as male or in-between–, which is independent whether my clothes are feminine or masculine. The X, then, is about not having a simple answer to the question “male or female” (what are they asking about, my body, my presentation or my preferred pronouns?).

At least, that’s how I feel now; I’m far from being done with gender-exploring. Whenever I think I’ve reached a conclusion of sorts, someone’s blog or comment opens up whole new aspects of gender to consider!

11 08 2008
Jacky V.

Genderkid, that’s what I like about genderqueer. I think it’s one of the most “open” labels, as far as labels go.

As for seperating sex and gender, yeah, it’s not that easy. Academically and intellectually, it can be done but “on the ground” and in reference to our own identities and sense of being, it becomes more difficult.

I don’t think any of us every come to a final, definitive conclusion about anything, if that makes you feel any better 🙂

12 08 2008
BT

Good news, Jacky! Soon you’ll be a fucking rug like me, and I won’t be alone anymore!

–Rogan

13 08 2008
Jacky V.

Haha! Great! We can get together and braid each other’s back hair ; )

14 08 2008
BT

*SNORT* Sneak volunteers to do it. She braided Mac’s the other day–I wouldn’t wish her hairdressing skills on my worst enemy.

–Rogan

15 08 2008
Jacky V.

I can just picture her doing it.

Leave a Reply

