Temporary Hiatus

19 07 2008

I just realised I haven’t posted anything in nearly a month. I’m on vacation for the summer and have been feeling extra lazy when it comes to writing. I will soon be starting a PhD and I will be spending so much time writing that I guess I needed a little break. I also don’t tend to spend too much time in front of the PC in the summer, preferring to be outdoors playing with my little guy and reading fiction.

I have a few thoughtful posts in mind on issues ranging from feminism to drag. In the meantime, here are a few updates:

  • 8 weeks on T and am feeling great. Injection 9 is coming up in 2 days.
  • Leg hair is denser in places where there was already hair and there is hair where there wasn’t any before.
  • My voice is up and down: some days pretty low and some days pretty high.
  • My clit has gotten noticeably bigger.
  • I had PMS two weeks ago but no period. It’s either late (No, I’m not pregnant) or finished.
  • The news is spreading among my extended family. My maternal aunts all know and a few cousins. So far, so good.
  • My brother still doesn’t want to talk about it. He barely seems to want to talk to me at all.
  • I’m still not sure how much of it my little guy understands.
  • I’m getting “sir”‘d a lot, except when I don’t bind. Sometimes it’s just too hot to bind.
  • Some friends who were getting the pronoun right in the beginning are started to slip back into “she” for some weird reason, in spite of the fact that I look more like a guy than I did 6 months ago.
  • I’m less worried about passing with strangers. I don’t really care if the cashier at the grocery store thinks I’m male or female.
  • I’m still ambivalent about my breasts.
  • I get a lot of strange looks when I’m not binding because people see hair on my chin (this isn’t from T, I’ve always had it. I just let it grow now whereas I used to shamefully get rid of it) and breasts and appear confused.
Actions

Information

4 responses

19 07 2008
queerunity

Hey Jacky, its nice to hear things are going well. I know zilch about binding or the Trans experience but maybe they make a thingy for binding that is made of some fabric that doesn’t have you sweat as much? I dunno, just a thought.

20 07 2008
Jacky V.

Yeah, I have to experiment with different binders but I’m pretty broke these days so I have to wait a while. Unfortunately, they’re not available locally and it’s always a risk to buy them online with regards to size, comfort etc.

21 07 2008
genderoutlaw

Hmm, I find it surprising you can’t find binders locally. If you make it to Toronto with any regularity, check out Come As You Are. They have a pretty good selection of binders, and if ordering online, they ship really fast.

21 07 2008
Jacky V.

Yeah, Montreal isn’t exactly a haven for FMT stuff. I’ve ordered toys from CAYA before but I’m not nuts about their online selection of binders. Maybe they have more in their actual store so I’ll check it out next time I’m in TO.

Leave a Reply

