Well, actually . . . I’m starting to like Jack

15 05 2008

Back a couple of months ago, I wrote a rant about how people were calling me Jack instead of Jacky. Lately, though . . .ummm . . .I’ve started to kinda like it. I’ve been using it more and more and when I meet new people, I find it helps clear up the ambiguity. “Jacky”, combined with my high voice and androgynous appearance, marks me as either androgynous or female. “Jack”, in spite of the voice and the androgyny, marks me as male. And I like that.

Actions

Information

4 responses

18 05 2008
Ryan

Its funny how one grows to like a name…

I was dead set on being Rhian for a while, cos the spelling is cool, and it means ‘girl’ in welsh, but I was pronouncing it Ryan which means ‘little king’, and so on

But I gave up. Got sick of the ambiguity. Now I really like Ryan.

18 05 2008
Jacky V.

Well, with time I think things kinda settle what what feels right just sticks.

27 05 2008
transguyjace

Yeah, I’ve been kinda thinkin about “Jace” and how it isn’t very gender clear. But that’s ok because when I start taking T all that will be cleared up 😀

27 05 2008
Jacky V.

Hi Jace, thanks for commenting. In the end, I think it’s important to stick with the name that feels right, regardless of what others might perceive about it, genderwise.

Leave a Reply

