Blast from the past: A Matter of Life and Death

26 01 2008
(Originally written October 14, 2006 on my old blog). 

Yes, yes, yes. I’m about to go on about Iron Maiden again. Yes, I am obsessed. Yes, I am in the fan club. Yes, I should have named this the Iron Maiden blog. Sue me!

We, in Québec, have been immensely spoiled Iron Maiden-wise in the last few years:

2003: Give Me Ed Till I’m Dead Tour (both Québec City and Montréal)

2004: Dance of Death Tour (both)

2005: Early Days Tour (Québec City only)

2006: A Matter of Life and Death Tour (both Québec City and Montréal)

Now, I wasn’t nuts about the new album and, at first, I wasn’t nuts about the fact that they played the album in its entirety with 5 older songs thrown in at the end. But listening to the album AFTER hearing it live (two nights in a row!), I am having massive musical orgasms over and over again. This is an amazingly complex album: it reminds one of the old stuff but with added maturity and sophistication, both musically and lyrically. And of course the boys kicked ass live, as always.

I can’t even begin to explain the high that I feel in the days that follow a show. I have more energy, more optimism about everything, little things don’t bother me so much . . .heck, I even have better posture! (Although I think a lot of this also has to do with my growing number of opportunities to do Drag King performances . . .to be discussed in another post).

I’ve been listening to nothing but Maiden for the past few days, with no signs of getting sick of it. While my roommate usually complains if I listen to too much of it, I think she knows better this week somehow . . .not a single anti-IM peep out of her!

Anyway, other than raving about Iron Maiden and getting some excess energy out of my system so I can actually get some shut-eye eventually, there isn’t much point to this post.

But fuck do I love Iron Maiden!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Actions

Information

6 responses

28 12 2010
Keith Spillett

I get a ton of grief for this, but I actually kinda dig A Matter of Life and Death. “Brighter Than a Thousand Sons” and “These Colors Don’t Run” are great. I even really like the Blaze Bayley stuff. The only thing I really didn’t like is the new album. I’m trying though.

28 12 2010
Jacky V.

Yeah, I do too now. TCDR, The Longest Day and FTGGOG are my faves on there. I’m trying to let the new one grow on me. I actually was a bit adverse to the first single, El Dorado.

The Blaze Bayley stuff …I’d have to listen to it. At the time, I was too emotionally distraught about Bruce leaving to be anything close to objective about it. I did see them live with Blaze though and even then I had to admit he did a great job considering who’s shoes he had to fill. I think they tried too much to have someone who looked like Bruce. Ya know? I can appreciate something different…but when it’s trying to be too much like something else…hmmm. So yeah, I’d have to listen to the Blaze stuff. I really like the Paul stuff on the other hand. He had his own charm.

28 12 2010
Keith Spillett

X Factor is not amazing, but I really like Virtual XI. It’s got a ton of great, forgotten songs (Futureal, The Educated Fool, Lightning Strikes Twice, When Two Worlds Collide) I didn’t think much of him until I saw him do the X Factor stuff live and I was hooked. I even like Blaze’s post-Maiden solo stuff (me and like 6 other people have ever heard it!!!) The Tenth Dimension is a great record. He actually reminds me a lot of D’Anno. He doesn’t have Bruce’s stage presence, but he can belt a song out.

The D’Anno stuff is AWESOME! First record is dynamite. “Strange World” was always my favorite D’Anno song.

Favorite Maiden record, by the way, is “Seventh Son”. You?

29 12 2010
Jacky V.

OK, well, I’ll have to give the Blaze era Maiden stuff and his solo stuff a listen! He was in a band before IM wasn’t he? Wolfsbane or something.

My fave D’Ianno song: Remember Tomorrow. But there are lots that I like.

Fave Maiden album: Oooo. Well, I can’t pick one so my top 5 are: Killers, NOTB, POM, Powerslave, SBIT and 7th Son. I know, I know. That’s 6. I like Brave New World a lot too.

29 12 2010
Keith Spillett

Wolfsbane is really awful. Stay clear of them. Tenth Dimension is the Blaze album to check.

Remember Tomorrow is awesome! Great list!

29 12 2010
Jacky V.

Thanks for the heads up!

Leave a Reply

